Unique Robinson, PA

IMG_4961

Hometown: Indianapolis, Indiana

Name of Undergraduate Institution: Wake Forest University

Major(s)/Minor(s) in College: Health & Exercise Science Major and Biology Minor

Name of Graduate School:  Wake Forest University School of Medicine

Favorite Quote: “The expert in anything was once a beginner!”  


Where are you currently at in your career path and why did you decide to pursue this career path?

I am a Physician Assistant at Salem Neurological Center here in Winston-Salem. We also have offices that I work at in King and Kernersville.  I decided to be a PA because I always wanted to help people, and I am able to have a flexible work schedule as well as change specialities if I ever feel the need.

If you could go back and have a chat with your 1st year postgraduate self, what would you tell her?

I would tell myself to relax. Things will get easier and be less intimidating as time goes on. I would also remind myself to be frugal because, although I’m getting paid (finally), those loans won’t pay themselves!

What advice would you give to a student looking to pursue a similar path as yours?

Take time to make the decision if you are stuck between the MD track and PA school. There are pros and cons to both. I personally couldn’t commit myself to the length of training to be an MD and feel very fulfilled in my role as a PA. Know yourself and what you want!

What is your favorite thing about your job?

I love my boss and staff. As a PA, your relationship with your attending/supervising physician is the most important factor in job fulfillment.

What gives you the greatest motivation to get up every day to go to work?

For me, it is the fact that I am impacting lives each day. There’s no greater feeling of purpose than providing healthcare to those who need it most.

How do you manage to balance your work life and your romantic relationship?

It is much easier for me now that I am working and not in school. Before I had class but also spent my own time studying and preparing for class/rotations. Now my schedule is more flexible. I work Monday through Thursday. Three day weekends allow for a lot of time for my significant other. Weekdays are more limited because once I work and workout, I’m eating then relaxing before passing out. There is much more of a balance now that I am in my actual career.  It’s all about patience and communication.

What do you like to do for fun?

I travel as much as I can.  I also enjoy watching basketball and working out. I go to the movies often as well.

In an alternate universe, what career do you think you would be in right now if healthcare wasn’t an option for you?

I am very persuasive and argumentative at times, so I would probably be a lawyer.

Thanks for all of the helpful information that you shared with us Unique! It is great to get your perspective as a Physician Assistant, especially since it is a perspective that a lot of people don’t hear from often! Keep doing the awesome work that you’re doing in your career!

Health Career Spotlights Home Page

Posted on December 15th, 2018

Thoughts on the Post?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s